Welcome to Jhelum District Unofficial web portal.                     |                     We need your help to grow this site.                    |                     Please send us your comments on contact@jhelum.pk

Welcome to Jhelum District

Jhelum was established in year 1849 by the British with head Quarter at Pind Dadan Khan.Its old name was Jabbi, which was replaced as Tehsil Jhelum and also became District Head Quarter in 1950.It is situated on the west bank of River Jhelum. Surrounding districts are Rawalpindi, Mirpur, Gujrat, Mandi Bahaudin, Sargodha, Khushab and Chakwal. Jhelum existed in its physical form until 1985, when a new District Chakwal was carved of out of areas from Jhelum and Attock Districts.

It had 3 Tehsils at the time of pre-devolution in 2001 namely Tehsil Jhelum, Pind Dadan Khan and Sohawa.Pre-devolution there were two Municipal Committees in Tehsil Jhelum. I.e, Municipal Committee Jhelum & Municipal Committee Dina.After devolution, Municipal Committee Dina merged in TMA Jhelum. After devolution, Municipal Committee Dina merged in TMA Jhelum. In 2005 Dina was declared a separate Tehsil.Jhelum district total area is 858,767 Acres and total population is 904,733

Write To Us
For Police
call 15
For Ambulance
call 1122
No. of Visitors: 000000
Last reviewed and updated on: Wednesday 25th of November 2015
For best view use IE 8+,Chrome & Mozilla
© 2009 Jhelum.pk All Rights Reserved